Florida's minimum auto insurance coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage liability if you have a Florida license plate. Please keep in mind these limits are the minimum. It is imperative that you have adequate auto insurance coverage limits to protect you and your assets. Even if you are completely innocent in an accident, you can get stuck with expensive medical bills, loss of income, and a permanent injury that can devastate the rest of your life. The consequences of not being adequately insured can be disastrous. There are additional coverages you can add to your policy to protect your future such as: bodily injury to others, loan payoff, comprehensive/collision, towing, uninsured/underinsured motorist, medical payments, and rental car coverage.
As an independent insurance agency, we give you options. We are contracted with numerous reputable auto insurance companies, so we will save you time and money by shopping around for you. We will match you with the insurance company best suited to meet your needs at a price you can afford. We advocate and work for you!
Florida's minimum auto insurance coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate. Please keep in mind these limits are the minimum. If you were in a serious accident, these limits of coverage would not adequately protect you and your assets. Even if you are completely innocent in an accident, you can get stuck with thousands or even hundreds of thousands worth of medical bills, loss of income, and a permanent injury that can devastate the rest of your life. The consequences of not being adequately insured can be disastrous.
Also called Florida No Fault Insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance covers you - regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) - up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants of a motor vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) if you own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL insurance continuously throughout the licensing and registration period.
Bodily Injury Liability coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued. In particular, your company pays for injuries caused by you or members of your family who live with you, even if they were driving someone else's vehicle. It may also cover others who drive your automobile with your permission. This coverage also provides you with legal defense in the event you are sued by the injured party.
This coverage pays for damages you or members of your family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
Collision coverage pays to repair or replace your damaged vehicle if you collide with another object, including vehicles, curbs, trees, etc. Collision covers you regardless of fault and also includes a deductible.
Comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle against fire, theft, vandalism, hitting an animal, glass breakage, or weather/acts of nature. A deductible (the amount of money you'll pay out of pocket before your insurer pays the rest) usually applies, but you'll be able to choose the amount.
Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury covers you and your passengers (up to your limits) if you're injured in an accident and the at-fault driver has no insurance or not enough insurance.
Uninsured/underinsured property damage pays to repair or replace your vehicle (up to your limits) if you're hit by a driver with not enough insurance or none at all.
If you're in an accident, medical payments will pay for medical and funeral expenses (up to your limits). Medical payments can also cover your family members or passengers, regardless of fault. The coverage also applies if you or your family members are passengers in other vehicles or hit by a car while you're walking or riding a bicycle.
You may need this coverage if you finance or lease your car. Also known as gap insurance, loan lease payoff covers the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and what it's actually worth.
If your car is in a "covered accident," the insurer will pay for you to have a rental (up to your limits, typically up to $30-$50 per day) while your vehicle is in at the repair shop.
It pays for towing service if your car breaks down for any reason.
Copyright © 2018 Collier Insurance LLC - All Rights Reserved.
FLORIDA AGENCY LICENSE NUMBER L103802